Antrim Camogie
Cumann Camógaíochta Aontroma
Join Us:      

All Ireland Senior Championship

In 1932, twenty-eight years following the foundation of the Camogie Association, the first All-Ireland Championship was played.

These were difficult times for aspiring sports women. The very idea of girls participating in active sport was frowned upon....not a socially acceptable past time. Travel was also limited.

Camogie was an adult game in those days. There was no underage camogie and college camogie only existed in isolated areas. The game was played much more on the ground and the hurl's shape suited superb ground striking. It was in later years that the bas of the hurl was trimmed to facilitate lifting the ball.

There is much more movement today with players running with the ball and fitness levels have soared. The players of 1932 wore gym-frocks below the knee, long black stockings, black boots, white blouses and belts....and for some a beret! Today hem lines are up. Modern style uniforms were accepted by 'Congress' in 1972 and around this time a small number of players began using a helmet.

Antrim took the Senior All-Ireland title and the O'Duffy Cup North to Ulster for the first time in 1945 and went on to complete a marvelous hat-trick in 1946 and'47.
Antrim 1945 Team
Antrim 1946
The side that achieved that historic three included Marjorie Griffen, Celia Quinn, Peg Dooey, Kathleen Rainey, Winnie Storey, Marie O'Gorman, Sue McKeown and Nancy Mulligan.
3 in a Row

The 1947 panel had within their line-up two players who refereed All-Ireland finals. These two players...namely Nancy Murray (nee Mulligan) and Lily Spence went on to hold the office of President of the Association.

Nine years after the treble a new Antrim twelve caught the dominant Dublin of the day in the semi-final and went on to defeat Cork in an excellent final.

Maeve GilroyOur own Moya Forde. Teresa Kearns, Deirdre O'Gorman, Ita O'Reilly, Maeve Gilroy, Marion Kearns, Madge Rainey and Chris Hughes were the architects of the County's fourth All-Ireland success.
Eleven years passed before another Antrim side picked up the reins to end Dublins run in 1967.

The stylish Mairead McAtamney, (who in 2004 as the Association celebrated it's Centenary was awarded a place on the illustrious 'Team of The Century' ) Sue Cashman, Kathleen Kelly, Mairead Carabine, Lily Scullion, Mairead Quinn and Eileen Collins brought home to the Glens O'Duffy number five.

The final accolade came in 1979... and against all the odds with the political upheaval of the time which brought with it the much lamented 'Troubles,' we were back on the big stage for sadly the the last time. Captained by Mairead McAtamney, Antrim's swan song hit the right notes with outstanding performances by birthday girl Carol Blaney between the sticks. The twenty-one year old keeper, later named 'player of the match' teamed up with,among others.. Jo McClements, Ann McAlister, Rita Moran, Mary McMullan and Siobhan McAtamney.
In all Antrim made 16 appearances in the All-Ireland Senior series.

Antrim All-Ireland final appearances (16)
Dublin 5-4 Antrim 0-0
Dublin 6-5 Antrim 4-1
Dublin 3-3 Antrim 3-1
Antrim 3-9 Dublin 4-2
Winning Captain
Sue Cashman
Antrim 5-2 Waterford 3-2
Winning Captain
Marie O'Gorman
Dublin 8-6 Antrim 4-1
Dublin 7-3 Antrim 2-5
Wexford 4-4 Antrim 4-2
Antrim 4-1 Galway 2-3
Winning Captain
Marjorie Griffin
Dublin 5-1 Antrim 4-2
Dublin 7-4 Antrim 3-1
Cork 2-5 Antrim 3-1
Antrim 2-4 Dublin 2-1
Winning Captain
Celia Quinn
Antrim 5-3 Cork 4-2
Winning Captain
Madge Rainey
Dublin 2-2 Antrim 0-6
Antrim 2-3 Tipperary 1-3
Winning Captain
Mairead McAtamney
Copyright 2023 Antrim Camogie